UnplannedPlanning

Urban rambling – blame it on NPR | August 24, 2011

How Anchor Stores Keep Neighborhoods Afloat : NPR.

I will miss my Borders books and my Borders Bucks for that matter (yeah I am a reader).  This is a fascinating piece I heard as I woke up.  I woke up much more quickly that I normally do just so I could catch this.  As much as I knew about this subject I had no idea that urban versions of the bigger grocery/general stores were actually more profitable.  It is always good to have information about big box redevelopment potential in your back pocket and I think I will be picking up a copy of The Option of Urbanism.

I am a someone who walks as much as I can and thinks public transportation should be able to get me anywhere else I want to go.  It is nice to know that I am not as much of an oddity as I sometimes feel.  I remember when I “had” to get a car (and a license to drive the thing of course).  I felt so much less free. And I got so much less fit.  I am an urbanite to the core and proud of it.

Posted in Urban Planning

Leave a Comment »

What do you think (Leave a Reply)

About author

I'm a generalist - with a lot of sub-specialties. I am passionate about planning, zoning, urbanism and other stuff

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

